I had this wonderful set of students last Spring in my Gender and Sexuality course.  The last couple of times I’ve taught this course, I’ve given a final exam structured around a response to an Amy Richlin essay on varying epistemologies in the field.  The discussion we had on this piece was so good that I (rather impetuously) suggested to the class that I write an essay responding to Richlin, using their final exams as material.  They were enthusiastic about this, so I’ve actually done it.  It turns out that this (that is, asking students to reflect on their own epistemology) is what they call “metacognitive” practice in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SOTL, for those hip enough to understand the acronym).  Who knew?  I just was impressed with how thoughtful the students were, and I learned a great deal from them.

Anyway, I’m trying to figure out what to do with the essay, if anything.  I have no idea what sort of audience might be interested.  I sent it to Amy Richlin, who was very nice about it, and have sent it to a couple of other people to see if they think there might be a home for it somewhere (CJ’s Forum?  CW’s Paedagogus?).  But I’m going to just womp it up here, in case anyone’s interested.  Open source scholarship!  Comments and criticism welcome.

UPDATE: I just got the proofs for this essay, which will appear in The History Teacher (43.4).  So now you can cite it!

Clara’s Essay

